It is currently October 20th, 2017, 1:22 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: What is a species subspecies? Layman thoughts...
PostPosted: June 20th, 2017, 9:01 pm 

Recently read a thread from about a year ago which I chose not to reply to because I didn't want to stir up the misogynistic stuff I don't have the right alleles for to find as funny. The thread (please don't respond there, let it die, make your own choice but please...

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=23520

I am not a scientist but I have faith in science and have loved the concept of the scientific method since it was first explained to me. A tested hypothesis to explain something to the exclusion of other explanations with peer review is a beautiful way to reduce bias that humans tend to have.

Regarding Milksnakes, ever since I found out the species ranged from little tiny representatives in N.E. US to monster six footers in Central America, I have suspected it was actually a species complex of several distinct species. It looks like that is the case.

Anyway, what is a species to me? Ignoring paleo-species we can't directly study, and ignoring parthenogenic species that don't often exchange genes - to me, a species is a population of biological life forms that do not have a barrier to gene flow.

For example, California Kingsnakes and Desert Kingsnakes have an integrade zone where hybrids between the two are recruited into the population of sexually reproducing adults, so they are the same species.

For me, a subspecies is a population within a population that has some significant differences from other populations within the population. Maybe we can detect those differences with DNA or maybe they are the result of epigenetics, but which case it is does not really matter. Those differences may not currently be a barrier to gene flow worthy of species level distinction, but they could lead to such a barrier to gene flow that results in isolation followed by speciation.