Herper Bios

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

Mike Pingleton

Herper Bios

Post by Mike Pingleton »

Howdy folks, I remade this post for FHF 2.0 :mrgreen: This thread is actually more valuable than you might think!

Please introduce yourself and give us a short biography.
Curtis Hart

Re: Herper Bios

Post by Curtis Hart »

My name is Curtis Hart, same as my user name, and I was born in '78. I used to post here under CMH. I grew up on a dirt road in southern Michigan, where I first became interested in herps. I'm more of a turtle person than anything, but I enjoy seeing them all. I left MI at 18 and headed down to FL to go to UF. After graduating, I returned to MI and spent 10 years working catering for NASCAR, which paid for a lot of travel and gave me a ton of time off. I now work as an environmental consultant, mainly doing summer presence/absence for endangered bats in the east. I also do the occasional post-construction monitoring (looking for dead birds/bats) in the shoulder seasons. Most years I only work three to five months, giving me plenty of time for travel. I have had much less of an interest in herping in the last few years, even though I have recently been to places like Bioko and Komodo. My focus is now mainly on mammals and birds, and you are much more likely to see me posting in one of those forums.

Chris Smith

Post by Chris Smith »

Hey all! Here is a slightly updated bio for those that do not already know me.....

I am a graduate student at the University of Minnesota pursuing my M.S. in Conservation Biology. I received my undergraduate degree from the University of Minnesota in spring of 2009. I majored in Fisheries and Wildlife Management with a Minor in Biology.

Interests:

- Population dynamics
- Biogeography
- Habitat management/restoration

Current research:

- Impacts of woody biomass harvest on amphibian diversity and abundance in aspen dominated ecosystems.