q about roadcruising

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

wayne_fidler

q about roadcruising

Post by wayne_fidler »

I'm fairly new to the whole rd cruising thing but was wondering if it's good to cruise during rain storms our temps have been mid 90's and we haven't had a good rain in a lil while. any certain time? I can cruise in the spring and fall but this summer thing tricks me. thanks
VAS

Re: q about roadcruising

Post by VAS »

Good question best wait for someone else to chime in but it seems like it would still be best at night with rain or not. Road cruising up in my neck of the woods seems to be a night time thing only no matter when.

Scott
Bryan Hamilton

Post by Bryan Hamilton »

You never know till you get out. Road cruising involves so much chance.

I would think a litte rain should help. When its actually raining I rarely see snakes but it should be good for amphibians.
Paul White

Post by Paul White »

Don't know about road cruisng but the day or two after rains aregreat in teh field for fnding snakess. not so much duing the rain thogh.
stlouisdude

Post by stlouisdude »

One thing you can do is check not only the roads but also the bigger puddles next to the road. Sometimes those have small water snakes in them. I assume they are eating the frogs that come to lay eggs there. You might get some cool amphibians that don't spend much time on roads there, too.

I
JakeScott

Post by JakeScott »

During rain, no so good. Try just before or after a storm...the low pressure brings em out. Usually late afternoon is best...about an hour before dark and onward.

-Jake
spinifer

Post by spinifer »

When it is pouring rain it is not very good because it is difficult to see, and you cant take any pictures. Light rain is productive and manageable. Immediately after rain is best, but not if it is windy.
wayne_fidler

Post by wayne_fidler »

cool thx guys
Dan Krull

Post by Dan Krull »