Advice on First Tongs?

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

SlitheringHuman

Advice on First Tongs?

Post by SlitheringHuman »

Hello everyone!
I am fairly new to the official (I have caught snakes for fun for quite a while now) herping world.
I built myself a snake hook, which is quite sturdy, and I used it to pick up a Northern Pacific rattler. He wasn't active at all because of the cold weather - no rattling, just slithered away...
Anyway, I decided that it's better if I get myself a pair of tongs in addition to the hook, for when it gets hotter in the summer and the rattlesnakes become more active. I had a few questions.

1. What size tongs are recommended? I've been looking at Midwest's 40" and 52", but I don't know which one is better...
2. Collapsible or non-collapsible? The only collapsible ones I've seen are 40". Anyone know if they're any good?
3. Is there a place to get them for a bit cheaper? They're quite expensive, but again, I've seem some big rattlesnakes here. I'm also planing to do a trip down south at the beginning of June.

Thank you for all your help,
Mariya
Zach_Lim

Re: Advice on First Tongs?

Post by Zach_Lim »

Is there a reason you need to pick up a rattlesnake? Are you moving it off the road or wanting to position it for photographs?

Generally speaking, it is much safer to let Crotes do their own thing and be left alone, but if you indeed need to handle one, I would go with a hook.

Tongs, if used incorrectly, can hurt a snake (clamping too hard, etc). A sturdy, compact (collaspable) hook can easily lift a hefy NorPac- I see that you are in the Bay Area- we get some fat ones here!

Hooks tend to be less invasive, as well- you kind of just let the snake climb over the hook and lift. I have used tongs once and although the snake remained calm during the ordeal, I felt that I gave up control for the wellbeing of the snake (which should always be top priority).