Wetland Documentary

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

crotalushorridus

Wetland Documentary

Post by crotalushorridus »

Hey guys this is my first post so let me introduce myself. My names Ari, I'm a Sophomore in high school, and from Maryland. Alike "many" 16 year olds out there, I'm a aspiring herpetologist and a field herper. This year, I'm making a documentary for a local wetland one mile from a major road in my area. It's amazed me how so much amphibian life can exist so close to human development which seems to be creeping up on the wetland. The point of my documentary is of course conservation through education, but also instead of sending the S.O.S. message of "save the wetlands", I want to show everyone what goes on in a wetland in one year. I've been filming and editing since September 2013 and will be done in June 2014 (coming up!). Last night I released the trailer to give people a little taste of what to expect from the whole 45 minute film coming June. I've shot everything with my Nikon D3100, tripod, and microphone. Its just been me, no help at all. I've attached the YouTube link to watch the trailer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSB5l3Ep9gQ

Cheers, Ari
TravisK

Re: Wetland Documentary

Post by TravisK »

Pretty nice. The camera work was a bit shaky but it looks like you have a pretty good piece of work for a High Schooler. :thumb:
crotalushorridus

Thank you Travis, without a GlideCam or camera rig, getting moving shots is tough.
muskiemagnet

Post by muskiemagnet »

nice documentary.

nice avatar photo as well. :roll: :roll: :roll:

-ben
crotalushorridus

Fair enough Ben!
muskiemagnet

Post by muskiemagnet »

no worries.

welcome.

-ben
Mike VanValen

Post by Mike VanValen »

Nice work on the trailer.

A couple of pointers : You want to present the wildlife as pristine and untouched as possible. The garter dangling from a stick detracts from that.

Some amphibian shots/calls would have been nice for the trailer.