Brennan's photo thread from 2013.

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

brennan

Brennan's photo thread from 2013.

Post by brennan »

this is my first attempt at a "year-end post". Although herping can be done year-round here in Louisiana, starting next weekend most of my free time will be spent in a duck blind. I do plan on getting out and trying to scratch smallmouth and mole salamanders off the list sometime this winter, but my herping year essentially ends 11/23. i have a crummy little point and shoot camera so don't expect to be amazed by my photos.

so lets get on with the pics........

besides an outing to the EBR study site in February, the first real outing of the year for me was the NAFHA SCC Chapter spring field trip to kisatchie in early April. my stepson preston and i made it up for about 24 total hrs, just enough time to herp and camp. some of these pics may have been posted previously in the field trip thread.

this was one of the two spotted salamanders (Ambystoma maculatum) found on the trip. i forgot who actually found them, but i had never seen one before.
Ambystoma opacum
Six-lined racerunner
got this lifer hog-nosed (Heterodon platirhinos)
here's a shot of some of the habitat, and P-man in his own world
herpers herping, pulling in minnow traps with no luck
Crotalus horridus, originally found by Jeffro on Friday, and relocated on Saturday in the same deadfall

the annual spring rise of the Mississippi River had access to my hunting lease blocked, as usual. from mid april to june i primarily herped locally, and had the usual finds....
Texas Rat Snake (Pantherophis ?, i can never remember), Iberville pa.
WBR pa, road cruised this little one
Five-lined Skink, Iberville pa.
Thamnophis proximus, EBR pa.
lots of Speckled King snakes (Lampropeltis getula holbrooki)
EBR pa
EBR pa., in situ
West Baton Rouge pa.
Iberville pa.
three-toed amphiuma, caught in minnow trap (Amphiuma tridactylum)
Storeria dekayi, Iberville pa.